Please note this post may contain affiliate links. While clicking these links won’t cost you any extra money, I may earn a commission if you make a purchase.

Finding your purpose with personality tests
I am currently in the throws of finding my purpose. I’m not sure I ever had one but it’s been a pretty constant theme appearing every month or so for the last year. Perhaps purpose should be my word for 2021? But learning more about your self through personality tests can shed some light and help you find your purpose.

I’ll include my results in each one!

Personality tests to help you find your purpose

Myers-Briggs Type Indicator

Probably the most well-known personality test, the Myers-Briggs uses a combination of letters to determine the kind of person you are. Your results are deduced based on whether you prefer to focus on your inside or outside world, introvert or extrovert. How you handle information, sensing or intuition. How you handle making decisions, thinking or feeling. And finally, dealing with the outside world, judging or perceiving.
My Myers-Briggs type is ISFJ. I am an introvert that senses information, makes decisions based on feelings and judges the outside world. Fun fact: my husband is the exact opposite!

You can find out your Myers-Briggs type by taking the 16 Personalities test.

The 5 Love Languages

The 5 love languages look at how we like to give and receive love. And with this typing rather than getting one result, they are ranked from first to last. You might be able to guess which is your main love language just by knowing them. They are:

  • Acts of service
  • Receiving gifts
  • Words of affirmation
  • Quality time
  • Physical touch

I like to give and receive love in the form of acts of service. So for me, I show my husband that I love him by making him a coffee in the morning. I show him I love him by washing, drying and putting away his clothes.

Take The 5 Love Languages quiz.

The Four Tendencies

The Four Tendencies was created by Gretchen Rubin after she had a conversation with an old friend that wanted to take up running again, as she enjoyed it in high school. The Four Tendencies has, you guessed it, four types. The types are:

  • Upholder
  • Obliger
  • Questioner
  • Rebel

They all take into account how we deal with inner and outer expectations, so things like work deadlines or getting up early to go to the gym.
I am an obliger. So that means I have no problem doing what I am told but struggle when I need to do something for myself.

Take The Four Tendencies quiz.

finding your purpose self improvement


I think Enneagram is a tricky one. A lot of what I’ve read about Enneagram mentions that there are no accurate tests for it. And your best bet is to read the description of each type to determine which one you relate best with. But what is it? The Enneagram describes the patterns in how you interpret the world and manage your emotions. The types are numbered from one to nine, but sometimes also have characteristics applied to make them easier to understand. The types are:

  • 1 – Reformer, Perfectionist
  • 2 – Helper, Giver
  • 3 – Achiever, Performer
  • 4 – Individualist, Romantic
  • 5 – Investigator, Observer
  • 6 – Loyalist, Loyal Skeptic
  • 7 – Enthusiast, Epicure
  • 8 – Challenger, Protector
  • 9 – Peacemaker, Mediator

I’m still in the process of typing myself and quite a few are strong contenders. I’m using The Enneagram Workshop’s free typing resource and the book The Honest Enneagram by Sarajane Case.


DISC is a behaviour assessment tool that centres around four different personality traits that take into account whether you are outgoing or reserved and task or people-oriented. Almost everyone is a combination of two or more types, with one type being more dominant. The different types are:

  • Dominance
  • Influence
  • Steadiness
  • Conscientiousness

My most dominant trait is C. So I am cautious, independent, careful and need the details.

A certified DISC consultant can help you find out more.

The Fear Assessment

The Fear Assessment was created by Ruth Soukup. After struggling with things in her own life she realised there was a bit of a pattern when it came to people’s fear and the way it could be overcome. The seven fear archetypes are:

  • Procrastinator
  • Rule follower
  • People pleaser
  • Outcast
  • Self-doubter
  • Excuse-maker
  • Pessimist

The full (paid) report will rank each of the fear archetypes from one to seven with a percentage.
I’ve only done the free assessment and there were no real surprises with my result. I am a procrastinator.

Take The Fear Assessment.

Clifton Strengths

The Clifton Strengths contains 34 different strengths spanning across four domains; strategic thinking, relationship building, influencing and executing. The strength themes are the foundation of strengths-based development to help you discover your natural talents or talent DNA.
The 34 strengths are:

  • Analytical
  • Context
  • Futuristic
  • Ideation
  • Input
  • Intellection
  • Learner
  • Strategic
  • Adaptability
  • Connectedness
  • Developer
  • Empathy
  • Harmony
  • Includer
  • Individualization
  • Positivity
  • Relator
  • Activator
  • Command
  • Communication
  • Competition
  • Maximizer
  • Self-Assurance
  • Significance
  • Woo
  • Achiever
  • Arranger
  • Belief
  • Consistency
  • Deliberative
  • Discipline
  • Focus
  • Responsibility
  • Restorative

My dominant domain is strategic thinking with my top strength being relator.

Find out your talent DNA with Clifton Strengths.

7 personality tests to take to discover your purpose

Finding your purpose with personality tests can shed light on different areas of your life. Helping you to find your strengths as well as weaknesses. And most importantly, learning more about working with those strengths and being aware of those weaknesses and how to overcome them.

Finding your purpose>
7 personality tests to help you discover your purpose